Sweet South Dakota Part I

IMG_8186

IMG_8177-2

IMG_8178-3

IMG_8188-3

IMG_8196

IMG_8183

IMG_8215

IMG_8089

IMG_8126

IMG_8157

IMG_8160

IMG_8162

South Dakota is where my dad grew up, and where I spent almost two weeks of every summer for the last twenty plus years. It has always felt like a home away from home for me, and this year was so different because I didn’t have my dad like usual. It was a very emotional trip for many reasons, but I am so glad we went.

Our first day was spent at my aunt and uncle’s house near Sioux Falls simply exploring the countryside. Emma was in love to say the least. She was so entertained with the cats, all of her Midwest cousins, the rolling hills and the trampoline! We also drove to a nearby town called Del Rapids and took Emma to a park by the Sioux River, it was so beautiful and they seemed to have the tallest slides ever!

Later during the weekend we took Em to the Great Plains Zoo. It was inexpensive fun to keep us (her) busy for hours. We saw it all from zebras, rhinos, to penguins! Oh yeah and we explored a dragon exhibit…Emma wasn’t the biggest fan of that idea. (See her crawling away from the blow up dragon in the picture?) It was hard not to laugh. Haha.

More from my travel diary for South Dakota part II is coming up next week, so be on the lookout!

Leave a Reply

